Hairdresser

coiffeur

Source: https://pixabay.com/de/haar-trockner-haar-gebl%C3%A4se-schwarz-308332/ Lizenz: CC0 Public Domain / FAQ

Tomorrow I intend to go to the hairdresser. For me, this always means: Hearing aids off and glasses off. That I am impaired in my communication with the hairdresser and therefore I can hardly communicate with her or him (except through the mirror), I sometimes find a blessing. Not that I’m against a little conversation, certainly not, but don’t expect me to bring my whole medical dossier to the hairdresser’s table! Now you can say for sure: but you also write in the blog! Yes, that’s true, but I wouldn’t dream of trying to bore you with my illnesses or intimate details!

Sometimes I find it unimaginable what the people, and especially the ladies, sorry, entrust to their hairdresser. Of course, this is not my business and you should do as you please and leave it as you like, but even without my impairment, I would never do that. Unless the hairdresser is a good friend. And then again, I wouldn’t talk about intimate things anyway if everyone could listen in. But for many people, the hairdresser seems to be a kind of therapist. That’s okay with me, as long as I don’t have to participate.

In the meantime I have been coming to the same hairdressing salon for a long time and then I usually meet the same hairdressers who cut my hair. They are starting to get used to me not being so talkative. I always smile at them in the mirror, and that‘s good, isn‘t it?

I always wash my own hair before going to the hairdresser. Since I am not supposed to get water in my ears, it is usually a little more effort to wash my hair and I only trust myself. I am also highly allergic to perfumed products and therefore I use an unscented shampoo, which they don’t have with the hairdresser. That I still have to pay for washing my hair, I have long resigned myself to that. Rules are rules, aren’t they, even at the hairdresser’s.
I visit the hairdresser about every six weeks and am always happy when I am finished. Sure, I’d like to look good, but I’d like to be able to do it without the fumbling on my head and when I’m back home, I’d like to put my head back under the shower right away.

But I’m a little vain too… I wear my hair in such a way that the hearing aids are not immediately visible. Although I certainly don’t hide them, a hearing impairment is invisible anyway, I personally don’t think they should be noticed immediately. Wrong shame? No!! It is just that I am me, with or without hearing aids and I am much more than my hearing impairment and I want to decide myself how to deal with it.

Maybe next time I decide for longer hair and/or ponytail…..

Leave a Reply

