Voices

August 4th, 2015

stimme

Quelle: http://all-free-download.com/free-photos/download/singing_children_197509_download.html Author: Tonny Watanebe

Voices are as different as the people they belong to. My voice belongs to me and I can use it to express what I want, and how I want it. If I am very excited, or very annoyed, my voice tends to be louder. In my youth I was often reminded with a “shhhh” to lower my voice. My voice is high, and can sometimes be loud. When I had hearing aids, I became more aware of my voice because I could now hear it better. Since then, I have tried to keep my voice at a normal level, though of course that resolve flies out the window when I am excited or agitated. These days, I am even told sometimes, that I can speak up.

Now I am the person who sometimes has to ask my husband to lower his voice when he is being too loud on the phone or laughing. Some people think that if they talk louder on the phone, that you will be able to understand them better. Since I have Hyperacusis (sensitive to loud noises), all loud voices, and especially high pitched voices are painful. Loud, or high children’s voices or shouts are the most painful of all. And no: I do not have anything against children. Quite the opposite, I enjoy them very much, except for when their voices literally pierce my eardrums. It is not just children’s voices that affect me. We were on the train no so long ago, and there was a lady with a phone talking to someone. Her voice was very unpleasant to my ears, and she was also being very loud. Of course the lady could do nothing for it, but it was still very aggravating for me. So dear Dad, if you can read this blog from your cloud: I now understand your “shhhh” very well!

The voices of the Hard of hearing takes some getting used to. Those born with hearing loss have never heard their voices properly, if at all. Therefore, they have difficulties with the correctly modulating their speech. For someone born with normal hearing, that speech would sound monotone. If you give yourself time, then that voice becomes easier to understand. Personally I have great admiration for those hearing impaired individuals who have learned to use their voice. Voicing is not a given for everyone, and demands great endurance and dedication on the part of the hearing impaired. It also shows how much we are used to subconsciously express with our voices. Singing for example is a wonderful instrument of our voices. I sing like an off-key crow myself and I avoid singing in public. I do however very much enjoy a beautifully clear and flexible singing voice. As with music, so too can a voice touch me emotionally. When I was in Moscow, I heard singing in the Underground Station, that was so beautiful that it touched me to tears. If it had been up to me, I would have offered the man right then and there a position with the orchestra, or a record label.

When someone speaks, I have a clear preference towards a deep, masculine voice, such as the one the late Richard Burton (American Actor) had. The advantage of it is that those kinds of voices are less painful to my ears, and I love listening to them. What else could I wish for?

Leave a Reply

