Different

July 12th, 2015

anders
Source: Quelle: D 24855998 © Corina Rosu | Dreamstime.com

When I was four years old, my family and I moved from the city to a small village. In the village we were once of the first “outsiders” who settled there and when my mother brought me to school on a bike, the villagers gawked at us as if we were aliens.
As an open and spontaneous child, I was soon regarded as “different” and soon the mobbing began. It is not just the humiliation, but also the daily stress that results from mobbing that can cause psychological problems.
Since many of my classmates went with me to the higher school, the mobbing continued more or less unabated. I only felt free once I started my studies at the university. New environment, new friends, new chances.
I have long since blocked away this unpleasant part of my past under the motto, “what does not kill you makes you stronger”. Most of my former classmates have since become sensible and responsible adults, and probably have since forgotten that they mobbed others and a small part of me will probably forever have a bit of insecurity and reservedness, but I can overcome that more and more easy. When in public though, I still feel uncomfortable.

However when I hear or read about people who are still being mobbed at school or in the workplace, I feel disappointed and angry. Just because someone is different, disabled or wears a hearing aid is no reason to mob them. There is absolutely no justification… And yet it happens. Not just children, which is still somewhat understandable, but also adults who should know better.
I have experienced and heard that in workplaces hearing impaired people have been mobbed by their colleagues or at least handled mockingly. I remember how defenseless I was then, and how much stronger I am today. This is why I would like to tell people who have been mobbed: don’t get yourselves down, and defend yourselves!!!!

I can still well remember how once, in English lecture I misunderstood the date of an exam, like the 14th instead of the 4th. When I then arrived in the classroom on the day of the exam, I was unpleasantly surprised. My teacher told me that I could take the test on a different day. I was furious and on my way out slammed the door. I thought it was all on purpose. Only later did I understand that I was not completely faultless since I did not ask after the date again. Since then I ask for confirmation as often as I can.

Since mobbing often is born of ignorance, and since the unknown is often unpopular, hearing impaired people must in particular make the effort to educate others in their surroundings. I hope I have helped a small bit with my blog to help lift the veil.

Leave a Reply

